Inquire Now


Stoneleigh-Burnham School alumnae strive to live with purpose and meaning. They inspire and challenge others around them to enrich their communities and the world. They distinguish themselves in myriad ways, reimagining the limits of their own potential.

To honor alumnae who have stood out amongst their peers, Stoneleigh-Burnham School created the Distinguished Alumna Award in 2010. This award is presented annually and bestows institutional recognition on one alumna who has distinguished herself in her personal or professional life, in her intellectual pursuits, or in her dedication to service of community, country or society.

The Distinguished Alumna Award serves also to inspire the entire Stoneleigh-Burnham School community—students, alumnae, staff and faculty alike—to strive ‘to become their best selves’ in their pursuit of a meaningful life.

2017 Distinguished Alumna Award Honoree

Mary E. Maloney ’69, MD

Director of Dermatologic Surgery and Chair of Department of Dermatology, UMass Memorial Medical Center
Professor, University of Massachusetts Medical School

Professional Affiliations and Publications

Author, The Dermatologic Surgical Suite
Editor, Cutaneous Oncology and Surgical Dermatopathology
Past President, Association of Academic Dermatologic Surgery
Past Secretary, American Society of Dermatologic Surgery
Past Chair, Council on Education
Past Chair, Scientific Assembly Council for the American Academy of Dermatology
Past Member and Officer, American Academy of Dermatology Board of Directors
Board of Trustees, Head of School Search Committee, and Past Chair of Enrollment Committee, Stoneleigh-Burnham School


Medical School
University of Vermont College of Medicine, Burlington, VT, 1977

Fellowship Program
University of California at San Francisco School of Medicine, 1983

Residency Programs
Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center, 1982
Hartford Hospital-University of Connecticut, 1979

Past recipients:

2016 – Holley Chant ’81
2015 – Susan Lawson Farmer ’60S
2014 – Carissa Tudryn Weber ’96
2013 – Joan Hutton Landis ’47S
2012 – Judith Howard Whitney Terry ’56B
2011 – Dr. Denise Bruner ’70
2010 – Karen Van Lengen ’69