OEKS Elected for 2019-2020 School Year

Student leadership positions are an important part of the positive community experience at SBS. As a centerpiece of the leadership program, the Student Heads of School give students an expanded voice and greater opportunity to participate in school planning and operations. The program began in its current form in the 2016-17 school year. Students chose to name themselves the “Eight Greek Heads” or, in Greek, “Okto Ellinika Kefales” (OEKs) in honor of the school’s mascot, Athena, the owl. Elections for next year’s OEKs leadership positions were held after candidate speeches at Housemeetings earlier this spring. The positions were open to current rising seniors for the 2018-19 school year. Our nine “Heads of School” for next year are:

Head of School – Katie Kowalyshyn and Melissa Ndabarasa

Head of Athletics – MJ Campos

Head of Big/Littles – Kira Liu

Head of Community Alliance – Nikki Mangaru

Head of Curriculum – Joy Lundberg

Head of Health and Wellness – Nora Broady

Head of Service – Jane Kim

Head of Student Activities – Siena Gamberoni

We know that everyone on campus next year will benefit from their energy, wisdom, and love for SBS!