On Sunday, Oct. 7, eight SBS debaters competed in St. Sebastian’s annual Parliamentary Extemporaneous Invitational Debate Tournament for students in both novice and advanced divisions. SBS debaters joined 18 independent schools and more than 200 students and faculty at the tournament.

Congratulations to Jax Morgan ’19 for earning Top Speaker of the SBS team. Jax was on an advanced team with Jacqueline Kennick ’19, leading the SBS team in wins in the Advanced Division. In addition, Mia Mullings ’20 and MJ Campos ’20 took fifth of the 18 teams competing in the Novice Division.

Co-coaches Jacob Steward and Karen Suchenski are proud of the work of all competitors and happy to see the commitment of the five SBS shadow debaters (seen below) who attended the tournament to learn about debate competition in anticipation of their own future debates in the DANEIS league.