Mission, Members, and Focus


The Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee is a working group of faculty, staff, and administrators established in 2019 to support the intentional work of equity and justice at Stoneleigh-Burnham. This working group contributes to conversations and actions relevant to curriculum, policy, strategy, and mission, and holds at its center, the humanity, integrity, justice, and compassion each member of our community deserves. 

Becoming a model institution for anti-racism, anti-bias, and inclusive engagement as collaborative community work

We recognize the imperative for each member of this community to first engage in individual anti-oppression work and to concurrently collaborate with their own spheres of influence for this essential paradigm shift toward mutual respect to permeate the culture of our school and broader community. 


Sam Sattin Torres ’08, Student Life and Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion Coordinator
Ellen Carter, Director of Counseling
Kara Fagan, English Department Chair
Apple Gifford, Director of the Academic Center
Kristen Mariottti, Assistant Head of School for Enrollment
Hannah Richards, Visual Arts Department Chair
Karen Suchenski, Humanities Teacher, Community Service Coordinator
Brittany Weiss, Director of International Admissions, Marketing & Communications Assistant

Member Areas of Focus

The members of the DEI Committee each belong to one of four subcommittees, Admissions and Recruitment, Curriculum and Pedagogy, Peer Resources, and Student Life.

DEI homepage
Resources for Students and Alumnae/x
Resources for Families