The IB Diploma Program

The International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme

Designed as a two-year curriculum (taken during 11th and 12th grade), candidates take one course in each of the six different subject areas.

Groups Subject Areas
Group 1 English
Group 2 French, Spanish, or Chinese
Group 3 History
Group 4 Biology, Physics, Environmental Systems & Societies, or Chemistry
Group 5 Math
Group 6 Visual Arts, Music, Dance


The DP programme also mandates the completion of three core elements central to the philosophy of the IB curriculum:

  1. Theory of Knowledge (TOK), designed to explore the nature of knowledge across disciplines, encouraging an appreciation of diverse cultural perspectives.
  2. Extended Essay (EE), offering the opportunity to investigate a topic of individual interest, and acquainting students with the independent research and writing skills expected at the collegiate level.
  3. Creativity, Activity, Service (CAS), encouraging students to be involved in artistic pursuits, sports and community service work, thus fostering students’ awareness and appreciation of life outside the academic arena.

The IB Diploma is awarded following successful completion of six courses plus the Core. External examiners will assess individual student performance. This evaluation is based on final year examinations as well as internal assessments completed over the two years.